9 Books Like Perks of Being A Wallflower for Adults to Read in 2022

Books Like Perks of Being A Wallflower Images

If you are a fan of Charlie the eponymous “wallflower and looking for more Books Like Perks of Being A Wallflower, You are reading the right article.

Stephen Chbosky’s book was published in 1999, but it’s still related in 2022. Life of teenage in high school experience, all the drama, crush, love, and friendship is still fresh. Also, how a suppressed memory can affect a young mind need to solve in the modern era.

Holding a bad memory can make someone not less than any philosopher. Especially at a young age, experiencing horrible even can have a long-term effect. Charlie is still a hero for those who have the book in that decade.

Here is the list of books like perks of being a wallflower for adults and young adults. If you loved reading 13 reasons and perks of being a wallflower, you too must read once.

1-All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

The book “All the Bright Places” is a book that goes deep into the human mind and its behavior. The book’s story rolls around two teens who fall in love with each other and go through a lot of challenges.

In other words, It’s one of the Books Like Perks of Being A Wallflower that shares a teen’s life and struggle. Finch and Violet, fate brought them together even though their life is on different dimensions.

The novel reveals a different side of trauma, tragedy, and other painful circumstances that affect human behavior. The author has gone deeper into mental issues, not to mention which makes this novel a great read.

It’s one of the best books like perks of being a wallflower you can ever read. Most importantly, it’s one of the books that every parent must read to help them understand their teens better.

Also Read: 7 Inspiring Books Like I am Malala

2- For Today I Am a Boy

The novel is presented by Kim Fu, A Canadian-born writer currently living in Seattle, Washington. “For Today I Am a Boy” is a story about Peter who feels He is undoubtedly a girl.

The lead role is “Peter Huang” no matter what he thinks in his early childhood, Family and society forced him to accept himself as a boy. Can you imagine how shameful, sad, and self-doubting life can be when nobody understands you?

The boy goes through many ups and downs until one event makes him realize the value of his life. Well, it’s always one single stock that changes life upside down.

It’s one of the exciting Books, Like Perks of Being A Wallflower, for those interested in reading about childhood troubles and their effect on the human mind.

3- Will Grayson, Will Grayson By John Green and David Levithan

Together, authors John Green and David Levithan brought a story about two boys named Will Grayson and Will Grayson. Yes, they are two different entities who met each other in life.

Will Grayson is alone, depressed, and finds it hard to connect with other boys. The story presents the truth behind a depressed teen who has experienced love, commitment, friendship, and other emotions too.

The authors have organically put the teen’s life; if you think a teen’s life is easy and accessible, you must read this novel once. They believe they have a lot of pressure which sometimes seems funny or not severe, but it has a significant effect on their teen mind.

It’s one of the other thought-provoking Books, Like Perks of Being A Wallflower, a must-read this year.

4- Call Me By Your Name (Call Me By Your Name, #1) by André Aciman

“He came. He left. Nothing else had changed, and I had not changed. The world hadn’t changed. Yet nothing would be the same. All that remains is dream-making and strange remembrance.”

“Call Me By Your Name “is a romance novel that may hit your core if you already like Books Like Perks of Being A Wallflower. Two teens fall for each other and go through all the emotional damage that a toxic relationship does.

One of the events in this book might make you feel nauseous; some of you may not like the storyline. However, those interested in a beautiful, possessive, and unique romance will find it interesting.

If you are someone who longs for someone and fears losing them at the same time, this book is definitely for you. Its one of the fantastic books to read if you like the perks of being a wallflower.

5- The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

“The Song of Achilles” is a mythological story about Greece God, making this book more interesting. The author “Madeline Miller” has decorated this story beautifully and made it worth reading, no doubt.

“Patroclus and Achilles” They loved, cared, and tried to make this relationship work despite their differences. Yes, the story has all the challenges a relationship invites against community rules.

Not to mention, this book is perfectly fit for those who are looking for more Books Like Perks of Being A Wallflower.

The book makes you feel many emotions, including love, hate, and crying. Also, it reveals many cultural secrets about greek legends you might be interested in exploring while reading this novel.

6- Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel By Sara Farizan

The novel is about a Persian-American girl “Leila” with immigrant parents who never had a relationship in her high school. I think the language and story of this novel are simple yet relate to real life.

Leila finds herself struggling to realize and accept her feelings towards girls, especially in the community. The book has a beautiful storyline if you are looking for other Books Like Perks of Being A Wallflower.

The book doesn’t revolve around physical attention but covers all the tiny things Leila was experiencing. Overall the book is all about friendship, romance, manipulation, and a relationship that could have been positive but wasn’t. A Must Read.

It’s one of the books like perks of being a wallflower, and it’s kind of a funny story if you read it on a lighter mode.

7- The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

This novel is about a group of youthful greasers living in Oklahoma struggling to be accepted in society. The book is super classy, engaging, and full of emotions.

The story’s characters seem genuine, sensitive, and kind-hearted who experienced Ill-fated life. Their life has been full of livelihood yet, confused until they got involved in some serious issue.

One incident made them realize the value of friendship they lacked to some extent. The book is a fantastic read if you are looking for more Books Like Perks of Being A Wallflower.

8- The Giver (The Giver, #1) by Lois Lowry

The book talks about the story of a Giver, ” Jonas,” which can give you a chill through some pages. The love story is obviously romantic to some extent also. The author has shared many spiritual perceptive throughout the book, but I found it interesting and engaging.

Many of you might not feel the connection, but you will understand the deeper perspective if you can read for a few times. The book is filled with colorless nature and emotionless, which will keep you reading until the last page.

As the name says it all, giving and giving only isn’t an outstanding experience. In other words, the book will leave you many questions to think over and calculate your view towards your decision.

One of the Books Like Perks of Being A Wallflower relates to many young adults’ lives.

Also Read: Top 5 Books Revealing Ancient Indian Mysteries

9- Dying to Know You By Aidan Chambers

The story is about a seventeen-year-old boy “Karl” who is in love but hiding something from her girlfriend. Isn’t it the story of every teen? In order to make her believe in him and answer her many questions, He asked a writer to help him.

While explaining his requirements, attachment develops between Karl and the writer. The author, living a lie, explored a lot after meeting Karl.

It’s really an exciting reading that may develop a sense that being with the right people helps, helps and let people evolve.

It’s one of the Goodreads books like the perks of being a wallflower you may like to read. Undoubtedly, the reader experiences various emotions while turning the pages and reading insightful dialogues of this book.

If you are also looking for more Books Like Perks of Being A Wallflower, you must read this one.

FAQS

Are The Perks of Being a Wallflower based on a book?

The author and director Stephen Chbosky published his novel “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” in 1999. He directed the story in 2012 and released an American coming-of-age drama film based on the same book.

So Yes, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is based on a book.

Is there a sequel to The Perks of Being a Wallflower book?

The author of “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” has announced another book in 2019, which is after 20 years. The name of his second book is “Imaginary Friend.” Nothing indicated that it’s the second part of “The Perks of Being a Wallflower.”

However, If you read his first book, there was a character who was never revealed, so Imaginary Friend can be sequel. It’s just my interpretation.

Final Words: If you have finished reading one of your favorite novels and wondering What to read if you like the perks of being a wallflower, I am sure you found options.

I hope one of the above titles will hit your eyes, and you will pick one to spend your time with. If you like the article, spread it and share it on your social media accounts.

Don’t forget to bookmark this page for instant access to such informative articles in the future.

Keep Reading, Stay Blessed